School of Music

Name Email Phone Room
-- The Herb Alpert School of Music at CalArts
Central Office
661-253-7816 B322
Victor Nani Agbeli
Faculty, World Music Performance: African Music and Dance 661-255-1050 x2049 B204
Woody Aplanalp
Faculty, InstrumentalArts: Guitar Faculty 661-253-7816 B322
John Baffa
Music Staff / Music Faculty, Music Technology 661-255-1050 x2217 B400B
Matt Barbier
InstrumentalArts: Trombone 661-253-7816 B322
Timur Bekbosunov
Faculty, VoiceArts 661-253-7816 B322
Paul Berkolds
Co-Coordinator, VoiceArts Program
VoiceArts: Bass Baritone 661-291-3036 B232
Alison Bjorkedal
InstrumentalArts: Harp 661-253-7816 B322
Jacqueline Bobak
VoiceArts: Mezzo-Soprano 661-222-2725 B227
Edward Carroll
Coordinator, Brass Program
InstrumentalArts: Trumpet 661-255-1050 x2075 B255
Clay Chaplin
Technical Director
Experimental Sound Practices and Composition 661.253.7816 B306
Swapan Chaudhuri
World Music Performance: North Indian Music, Tabla 661.253.7816 B236
Roxane Chenault
Operations Manager 661.222.2778 B323D
Bob Clendenen
Production Manager 661-253-7860 x7860 B400C
Daniel Corral
Composition 661.253.7816 B322
Sara Cubarsi-Fernandez
Lecturer 661.253.7816 B322
Joey De Leon
Jazz: Latin Percussion 661.253.7816 B322
Michele DeJesus
Administrative Coodinator 661.222.2779 B323A
Jack Dettling
661-253-7816 B322
Nicholas Deyoe
Interim Director, InstrumentalArts Programs
InstrumentalArts: Conducting, Composition, 661.253.7816 B322
Erika Duke-Kirkpatrick
Larry Levine Chair in Contemporary Music 661.255.1050 x2027 B254
Alan Eder
Piano Technician 661.255.1050 x2543 B313
Meltem Ege
Theory, Skills, History and Literature 661-253-7816 B322
Iris Carmina Escobar
VoiceArts 661.253.7816 B322
Julie Feves
InstrumentalArts: Bassoon
Hal Blaine Chair in Musical Performance 661.253.7816 B322
Michael Jon Fink
Mel Powell Chair in Music 661.255.1050 x2327 B207
Allen Fogle
InstrumentalArts: French Horn 661.253.7816 B322
Stuart Fox
InstrumentalArts: Guitar & Lute 661.253.7816 B213
John Fumo
Jazz: Trumpet 661.253.7816 B322
Ryan Gaston
Music Faculty 661-253-7816 B322
Randy Gloss
World Percussion
Chair, World Music Performance Programs 661.253.7816 B241
Vinny Golia
Composition, Improvisation, Winds 661.253.7816 x2611 B201
Andrew Grueschow
World Music Performance: African Music & Dance and World Percussion 661.253.7816 B200 and B248
Sean Hayward
Lecturer 661-253-7816 B322
Jonathan Hepfer
InstrumentalArts: Percussion 661.253.7816 B322
Alexandro Hernandez
Music History and Literature 661-253-7816 B322
Oscar Hidalgo
InstrumentalArts: Contrabass 661.253.7816 B322
Jordan Hochenbaum
Music Technology: Interaction, Intelligence and Design (MTIID) 661.255.1050 x2311 B206
Colin Honigman
Music Technology: Interaction, Intelligence and Design (MTIID) 661.253.7816 B322
Alex Iles
Jazz: Trombone 661.253.7816 B322
Alphonso Johnson
Jazz: Electric Bass 661.253.7816 B322
Eyvind Kang
Performer-Composer 661.253.7816 B317
Ajay Kapur
Associate Dean for Research and Development in Digital Arts, Office of the President
Director: Music Technology: Interaction, Intelligence and Design (MTIID) 661.255.1050 x2544 B300
Jessika Kenney
VoiceArts Faculty
Aashish Khan
World Music Performance: North Indian Music 661.253.7816 B243
Amy Knoles
Associate Dean for Enrollment Management and Special Projects
InstrumentalArts: Percussion and Electronic Percussion, Musicianship Skills 661-253-7816 A407
Larry Koonse
Jazz: Guitar 661.255.1050 x2055 B212
Ulrich Krieger
Chair, Composition Program
Composition and Experimental Sound Practices 661.253.7758 B222
Nora Kroll-Rosenbaum
Music Faculty 661-253-7816 B322
Max Kutner
Music Faculty 661-253-7816 B322
Joe LaBarbera
Jazz: Drumset 661.255.1050 x2548 B205
Malorie LaVine
Music Faculty 661-253-7816 B322
Anne LeBaron
Composition 661.255.1050 x2074 B224
Thomas Leeb
InstrumentalArts: Guitar 661-253-7816 B322
Stephen Lehman
Composition, Performer-Composer, Jazz 661.253.7816 B317
Marc Lowenstein
Roy E. Disney Family Chair in Musical Composition
Musical Arts Program 661.255.1050 x2065 B238
Tisha Mabee-Goldstein
InstrumentalArts: Harpsichord, Piano and Organ 661.253.7816 B322
Dzovig Markarian
VoiceArts Faculty
Bennie Maupin
Jazz: Saxophone
661-253-7816 B322
Andrew McIntosh
InstrumentalArts: Viola / Violin 661.253.7816 B254
Parag Mital
Music Technology: Interaction, Intelligence and Design (MTIID) 661.253.7816 B322
Paul Novros
Jazz: Saxophone 661.253.7816 B322
Phil O'Connor
InstrumentalArts: Clarinet 661.253.7816 B322
Darek Oles
Jazz: Bass 661.253.7816 B214
Jacob Penn
Interaction, Intelligence and Design (MTIID)
Music Faculty 661-253-7816 B322
Michael Pisaro
Composition and Experimental Sound Practices 661.255.1050 x2542 B225
Kathy Pisaro
Music History and Literature 661.253.7816 B322
Erin Poulin
Budget Analyst/Accounting Specialist 661-255-1050 x2149 F201G
Houman Pourmehdi
World Music Performance: Persian Music 661.253.7816 B322
Lauren Pratt
Music Producer
Career Development Advisor 661-222-2776 B322B
Vicki Ray
Coordinator, Piano/Keyboard and Collaborative Keyboard Programs
InstrumentalArts: Piano and Collaborative Keyboard 661.255.1050 x2530 B223
Sarah Reid
Lecturer 661.253.7816 B322
Sara Roberts
Faculty, Experimental Sound Practices, Composition, Integrated Media, History and Literature
Nicholas England Chair 661.253.7816 B306
David Roitstein
Chair, Jazz Program
Jazz: Piano 661.255.1050 x2235 B240
David Rosenboom
Dean; Richard Seaver Distinguished Chair in Music
Coordinator, Performer-Composer Specialization 661-253-7816 B323E
Rachel Rudich
InstrumentalArts: Flute 661.255.1050 x2199 B253
Spencer Salazar
Music Technology: Interaction, Intelligence & Design (MTIID) 661.253.7816 B300
Fahad Siadat
Lecturer 661.253.7816 B323A
Christopher Speed
Music Faculty
Saxophone 661-253-7816 B322
Laura Steenberge
Faculty 661.253.7816 B322
Luke Storm
InstrumentalArts: Tuba 661-253-7816 B322
Miroslav Tadic
InstrumentalArts: Guitar 661.253.7816 B226
Tali Tadmor
VoiceArts: Vocal Coach and Accompanist 661.253.7816 B231
Emi Tamura
Music Theory and Musicianship Skills 661-253-7816 B322
Karen Tanaka
Composition 661.253.7816 B322
Lainey Taylor
Office Assistant
661-255-1050 ext 3112 B323
Micaela Tobin
Music Faculty 661-253-7816 B322
Doug Tornquist
InstrumentalArts: Euphonium and Tuba 661.253.7816 B322
Ming Tsu
InstrumentalArts: Piano 323-387-9638 B223
Allan Vogel
InstrumentalArts: Oboe 661-253-7816 B322
Wolfgang von Schweinitz
Composition 661-253-7819 B301
Paul Vorwerk
Music History & Literature, Skills 661-253-7856 B208
Djoko Walujo
World Music Performance: Balinese and Javanese Music and Dance 661-255-1050 x2549 A114
Robert Wannamaker
Michel Colombier Performer-Composer Chair
Associate Dean for Academic and Special Projects; Coordinator: Core Theory & Skills Curriculum 661-255-1050 x2547 B322A
Nanik Wenten
World Music Performance: Balinese and Javanese Music and Dance 661-255-1050 x2549 A114
I. Nyoman Wenten
World Music Performance: Balinese and Javanese Music and Dance 661.255.1050 x2549 A114
* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty